Skip to main content

God of War Ragnarok stats guide: all stats explained

The God of War series only really started diving into more deep RPG systems with the 2018 reboot. Prior to that, Kratos only really upgraded his weapons to get stronger, and there wasn’t much thought needed from the player besides which weapon they wanted to upgrade. With God of War Ragnarok, once again Kratos will be upgrading his weapons, as well as various armor pieces and gear that all influence his stats.

Considering the spectacle and mass appeal of God of War Ragnarok, it wouldn’t be a stretch to assume that some people playing may not be as familiar with RPG stats as others. Even if you’re a RPG veteran, God of War Ragnarok includes some unique stats that you won’t instantly recognize. Knowing what each of these stats means will help you build out your Kratos to suit your playstyle best. Here is what all the stats in God of War Ragnarok are and what they do.

Related Videos

Further reading

All stats in God of War Ragnarok explained

Kratos and Thor clash in God of War Ragnarok.

There are six stats in God of War Ragnarok that Kratos has. These can be impacted by your armor and equipment, as well as their upgrades. You can see how each piece of gear will alter your stats when highlighting them. Green upward arrows mean that piece of gear will improve that particular stat, while red down arrows will reduce that stat.


Strength will be the easiest stat to understand in God of War Ragnarok, regardless of whether or not you’ve played many RPGs before. The higher your Strength stat, the more damage Kratos will do with each attack. If you’re focused just on hitting things hard, prioritize Strength.


Another fairly self-explanatory stat is Defense. Having a higher Defense will reduce the amount of damage incoming attacks do. If you’re finding yourself having trouble with dodge and parry timing, having a high Defense can keep you in the fight longer.


This is where the stats become less clear from their names. Runic can sort of be thought of as your magic stat in God of War Ragnarok. Improving your Runic stat will impact how effective your Runic abilities are, plus their elemental effects. For example, if you’re using a Frost-related Runic ability, a high enough Runic stat will allow it to inflict the Frost status on that enemy sooner than if the stat was lower.


Vitality, aka health, is another simple one on the surface, but it does have a small secondary function as well. It will obviously extend your health bar as the stat improves, but it will also increase your Stagger resistance, allowing you to continue without getting interrupted as often. Unless you’re very experienced with God of War Ragnarok, or are looking for a major challenge, this is an easy stat to recommend to anyone.


Luck is easily the most obscure name for a stat. In this case, Luck simply means how often enemies will drop rewards upon defeat. This usually results in extra Hacksilver and crafting components, which help you further upgrade or purchase new gear.


Cooldown is a stat you will want to buff alongside Runic to make the most out of it. Cooldown is a common term in MMOs, but means the same thing in God of War Ragnarok. Each ability, like your Runic abilities, comes with a cooldown time. These are usually fairly long, around 90 seconds or more, meaning you can’t use the same ability again until that amount of time has passed. By increasing your Cooldown stat, that time it takes for your ability to “recharge” will be reduced.

Editors' Recommendations

God of War Ragnarok beginner’s guide: 7 tips and tricks to get started
Kratos looks at the Leviathan Axe.

Kratos and Atreus are back, older, and preparing to face off against even greater challenges in God of War Ragnarok. The titular apocalyptic event is looming, and in the years between the original and the sequel, father and son have been preparing. You, as the player, may not have touched the previous game for years or never played it at all. Even if that game is fresh in your mind, this sequel adds quite a bit new to the mix to learn.

The initial controls and feel of God of War Ragnarok will be familiar to you if you played the reboot. You're still controlling Kratos from the same tight perspective and hacking and slashing mythological foes with your weapon of choice. While that can get you through the opening hours, there's a lot more you will need to grasp to keep up with the difficulty curve this game has in store for you. To really feel like the God of War, here are some essential tips and tricks for God of War Ragnarok.

Read more
God of War plot explainer: The story so far
god of war ragnarok release date

When a single character has existed for so long that they've challenged the gods of not one but two mythologies, you just know they've had a lot of adventures. Kratos, star of every God of War game since the series' debut in 2005, has hacked, slashed, and bludgeoned his way through seven core games, with his eighth launching soon in November. Each and every game has been a steady improvement, but it wasn't until 2018's semi-reboot simply called God of War that the series received near universal acclaim and monumental sales numbers.

Because each game has sold better than the last, it only stands to reason that most people have played the newest entry in the series without many, or even any, of the prior entries. While having no prior knowledge won't ruin the experience, knowing the full history and series of events that lead up to the current events in Kratos' life make his growth and struggles something you can really invest yourself into. There are a lot of games spread across multiple systems, though, which can make it a big financial and time investment, so the next best thing would be to check out our summary of the entire story of God of War so far.

Read more
New Final Fantasy 16 trailer shows an expansive journey and classic story
Ifrit roaring in Final Fantasy 16 surrounded by fire.

A new trailer for the long-awaited Final Fantasy XVI shows that it doesn't just share a classic fantasy setting with games like Final Fantasy I, II, III, and IX, but a similar plot as well. The trailer, though, titled Ambition, teases an expansion on those old plotlines as well.


Read more