Skip to main content

How to evolve Primeape into Annihilape in Pokémon Scarlet and Violet

Out of all the new Pokémon, evolutions, and regional forms in Pokémon Scarlet and Violet, Annihilape is one of the most exciting, especially for longtime trainers.

Primeape, the fighting-type pig monkey Pokémon introduced way back in the first generation with Pokémon Red and Blue, finally has a more powerful evolution in the dual fighting-ghost-type Annhilape.

Here are some details from its Pokédex entry:

When its anger rose beyond a critical point, this Pokémon gained power that is unfettered by the limits of its physical body. It imbues its fists with the power of the rage that it kept hidden in its heart. Opponents struck by these imbued fists will be shattered to their core.

Sounds wild, right? Well, getting one is a little more complicated than just leveling up a Primeape. We'll show you how to get an Annhilape in just a few steps.




10 minutes

What You Need

  • Primeape that knows Rage Fist

  • Ether or another PP-restoring item

Annihilape outside.

How to evolve Primeape into Annihilape

Evolving Primeape into Annihilape requires using a specific move again and again, and a little bit of planning on your part.

Step 1: Make sure the Primeape you want to evolve knows the ghost-type move Rage Fist. Primeape learns this move at level 35. If you have a higher-level Primeape that doesn't know Rage Fist, you can have it relearn the move through its Summary page.

Step 2: Now you need to go out into the wild and have Primape use the move Rage Fist 20 times.

There are two tricky pieces to this. You need to use Rage Fist 20 times without going to a Pokémon Center. Using a Pokémon Center to heal Primeape will reset the Rage Fist counter and you'll have to start again. To avoid Primeape getting knocked out in battle while attempting this, we recommend going to an early-game area where the wild Pokémon are extremely low-leveled.

The other caveat to this requirement is that the move Rage Fist only has 10 PP, meaning you can only use it 10 times. To hit the 20-mark in one go, you'll need to use an Ether on Primeape to restore PP to the move. Ether can be found on the ground quite often (you probably have quite a few sitting in your bag).

Primeape using Rage Fist in battle.

Step 3: Once you've used Rage Fist 20 times, all you need to do is level up Primeape. If you've completed the previous steps properly, it will evolve immediately into Annihilape!

Annihilape evolution screen.

Editors' Recommendations

Sam Hill
Sam Hill is a journalist and the gaming guides editor at Digital Trends. He's also written tech guides for Input and has…
How to get Majora’s Mask in Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom
Link picking up Majora's Mask.

One major change that was introduced in Breath of the Wild that The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom brings back is the massive number of armor and clothing options for Link to wear. You will find and collect plenty of pants, shirts, but also the occasional mask. Many of these are callbacks to past Zelda titles, including the infamous Majora's Mask. While not quite as powerful as it was in its original game, this creepy mask is still very useful. Here's where you can get your hands on Majora's Mask in Tears of the Kingdom.

Read more
How to upgrade horses in Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom
A horses stats being registered at a stable.

The world of Hyrule is at its most expansive yet in The Legend of Zelda: Tears if the Kingdom. Not only is the entire map of Hyrule from Breath of the Wild back, with plenty of changes but there are also the sky islands and an entire underground zone on top of (and below) that. With that much ground to cover, Link is once again going to be relying on trusty steeds to get around. Sure, you could build a mechanical device, but those could never replace a friendly horse, especially once you've upgraded it. To help you train the best horse possible in Tears of the Kingdom, check out our full breakdown on how to upgrade horses.

Read more
How to upgrade health and stamina in Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom
Link holding heart container in Tears of the Kingdom.

The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom can be a tricky game, especially if you aren't prepared for the challenges ahead. Enemies can take you out quickly, so it's best to approach battles and quests with plenty of health and stamina, if possible. Upgrading your health and stamina in Tears of the Kingdom functions similarly to how it does in The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, and in this guide, we'll show you exactly how this mechanic works.
How to upgrade health

To upgrade your health, you need to first complete four Shrines. At the end of each Shrine, you're awarded with a Light Blessing. Much like its predecessor, there are Shrines scattered all throughout Hyrule (and the skies above), so there are plenty of opportunities to earn Light Blessings.

Read more