The Last of Us takes the big prize (and many others) at the Oscars of video games

film version last us way the of nominee

The Last of Us is the best game of 2013 in 10 different categories – including Game of the Year – according to the top developers, industry leaders, and creative types making up the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences. Naughty Dog’s latest scored 12 nominations in all for the 2014 D.I.C.E. Awards when the nominees were announced in January. The two categories it lost in – Best Online Game and Outstanding Achievement in Gameplay Engineering – went to World of Tanks and Grand Theft Auto V, respectively.

“Tonight’s big winner, The Last of Us, is a prime example of how today’s modern video game studios expertly blend art, game play, and storytelling to transcend the traditional notion of video games,” AIAS president Martin Rae said in a statement. “This year’s winners range from deep, story-driven epics and massive interactive worlds to realistic sports action and engaging mobile experiences. They paint a broad picture of the new golden age we’re currently experiencing in the video game industry.”

The easiest explanation for the D.I.C.E. Awards is that it’s the Oscars of video games. Much like Hollywood’s most prestigious annual awards show, all category nominees and winners at the D.I.C.E. Awards are chosen by peer developers and developer-types. The roughly 20,000 members come from a variety of development disciplines, from game design to localization.

The night’s other big winners included two awards apiece for BioShock Infinite (Action Game of the Year and Outstanding Achievement in Musical Composition) and Plants Vs. Zombies 2 (Casual Game of the Year and Mobile Game of the Year), one for Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons in the Downloadable Game of the Year category, and one for FIFA 14 as the Sports Game of the Year. Notably, this year marks EA Canada’s fifth consecutive win in the sports category. 

Other notable moments for the evening included a Pioneer Award win for Eugene Jarvis, creator of classic coin-op arcade games like Defender, Smash TVNARCCruis’n USA, and the prototypical twin-stick shooter Robotron: 2084. The evening also featured a rare appearance from Rockstar Games founders Dan and Sam Houser, and Leslie Benzies, who were inducted into the AIAS Hall of Fame.

We’ve got plenty of cool info coming from our time at the annual D.I.C.E. Summit in Las Vegas. Stay tuned for more soon. And hey… if you haven’t played The Last of Us, then you probably should. We hear it’s a pretty big deal.


From PUBG to Apex Legends, this is how battle royale happened

Battle royale games like PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds’ and Fortnite have become the biggest trend in video games. The genre is also pushing the envelope in Twitch streaming and eSports.

These Xbox One exclusives are the definition of quality over quantity

Xbox One has a prestigious collection of handpicked titles that you can't play on other consoles. Here are the latest and greatest Xbox One exclusives, including some that are also available on PC

Here are all the awesome award-winning indie games from IGF

Indie games are now offering experiences capable of matching -- and often surpassing -- that of big-budget blockbuster titles. The Independent Games Festival recognized the best of them on March 20.

The best of the last generation: Our 50 favorite Xbox 360 games

The Xbox 360 thrived during a generation where games were plentiful. Here's our list of the best Xbox 360 games of all time, including all game genres and even a few special indie hits.

Here’s everything you need to know about MLB The Show 19

MLB The Show 19 launches on PlayStation 4 on March 26. If you're interested in finding out what's new in the latest iteration of the annual baseball sim, we've got all the details, from new gameplay mechanics to Road to the Show changes.

Newegg slashes prices on PS4 accessories and AAA games like Anthem

Newegg is currently offering big savings on a number of games for PS4 and Xbox One, including Anthem, Metro Exodus, The Division 2, and Kingdom Hearts 3. Accessories including headsets are also on sale.

Apple Arcade might be the new game subscription service worth signing up for

Apple Arcade will launch this fall bringing a new game-subscription service with cross-platform support for iOS, Mac, and Apple TV. At launch, the service will feature more than 100 exclusive games, with more added to the service regularly.

Fortnite World Cup kicks off April 13 with $1 million in weekly prizes

The Fortnite World Cup kicks off on April 13 with the start of Online Opens for solo play. $1 million in weekly prizes will be awarded during the Online Open Finals, so get practicing!

These are the must-have games that every Xbox One owner needs

More than four years into its life span, Microsoft's latest console is finally coming into its own. From Cuphead to Halo 5, the best Xbox One games offer something for players of every type.

Your PlayStation 4 game library isn't complete without these games

Looking for the best PS4 games out there? Out of the massive crop of titles available, we selected the best you should buy. No matter what your genre of choice may be, there's something here for you.

PlayStation’s first State of Play event includes Iron Man VR announcement

Sony held the first PlayStation State of Play video presentation on March 25 and it featured the announcement of Iron Man VR for PlayStation VR. The game is scheduled to arrive this year.
Virtual Reality

HTC’s stand-alone Vive Focus Plus will be out in April, and it won’t be cheap

The HTC Vive Focus Plus is set to release on April 15 to commercial businesses and developers. The stand-alone headset features the "six degrees of freedom" system, and includes hazard-tracking protection.

These big, beautiful BenQ gaming monitors are on sale on Amazon right now

All gamers know that a good monitor is just as important as PC hardware to fully enjoy what today's games have to offer. BenQ makes some of the best (including some of our favorites), and three top-rated BenQ gaming monitors are on sale on…
Product Review

At $1,900, the Lenovo Legion Y740 is a powerful but affordable gaming machine

The successor to the Legion Y730, the 15-inch Legion Y740 now packs in the power of an RTX 2070 Max-Q series graphics card inside. Alongside an attractive looking design, it has everything a gamer would need to enjoy all the latest hit…