Skip to main content

How to evolve Pokémon in Pokémon Legends: Arceus

The Pokémon franchise has always been an RPG. For the most part, they're pretty simple ones at that. The combat is turn-based, each Pokémon type has advantages and weaknesses, and winning fights earns them experience points that will level them up and make them stronger. What was unique at the time, and to an extent still is, was the evolution mechanic. When a Pokémon reaches a certain level or is given a specific item, they can evolve into a more powerful version. Pokémon Legends: Arceus has bucked many of the trends the series has stuck to for decades, including the way evolutions work.




5 minutes

Obviously, Pokémon Legends: Arceus doesn't remove the evolution mechanic. It is so core to Pokémon that it wouldn't really be a Pokémon game without it. However, in an effort to spice up this bold new entry, the developers have reworked how the system works. If you're a long-time fan of the series and jumping into this exciting new, more open, and free-roaming Pokémon adventure, you might be confused and a little scared to see that your Pokémon aren't evolving. Fear not, trainer, because we're here to teach you everything you need to know about how to evolve Pokémon in Pokémon Legends: Arceus.

See more

How to evolve Pokémon using evolution stones

In any previous mainline Pokémon game, once a Pokémon reached a certain level or was given an evolution item, the game would stop and show you a little cinematic of them growing into their next form. This is not so with Pokémon Legends: Arceus, although the triggers for causing an evolution are actually the exact same. If you're using one of the many evolution items, such as Fire Stones, Water Stones, and so on, the process is automatic.

Select the evolution stone from your inventory and apply it to the Pokémon of that same type. This Pokémon will evolve on the spot.

pokemon legends arceus evolution guide pok  mon
Image used with permission by copyright holder

How to evolve Pokémon naturally

Pokémon still gain levels and will be able to evolve when they hit a certain threshold. However, perhaps in order to give trainers a choice to not have their Pokémon evolve without knowing any hidden button tricks, the process won't begin automatically anymore.

Step 1: Level up your Pokémon until you get a notification that they're ready to evolve.

Step 2: Open your inventory by pressing Up on the D-pad and highlight the Pokémon you want to evolve. You can easily tell which Pokémon are able to be evolved by the glowing Pokéball icon beside them.

Step 3: Press the A button, and then confirm your choice to have them evolve.

pokemon legends arceus evolution guide pok  mon
Image used with permission by copyright holder

Step 4: Watch your favorite pocket monster transform into a brand new form.

Other ways Pokémon evolve

Some Pokémon have very specific requirements for evolving aside from needing an item or leveling up. Some only evolve during certain times of day, once they reach a specific happiness level, or even using specific moves a certain number of times.

If you're unsure why a Pokémon isn't evolving, check on their entry in the Pokédex to see if they have a unique requirements.

Editors' Recommendations

Jesse Lennox
Jesse Lennox loves writing, games, and complaining about not having time to write and play games. He knows the names of more…
How to use Steam Family
A steam family library in Steam.

Steam has evolved a lot since it initially launched. What was once a simple storefront has developed into the largest PC gaming community in the world, with millions of people around the globe logging on and playing. Because Steam is a digital-only storefront, and games are tied to a single account, it did have a drawback when multiple people in a family wanted their own accounts. There were questions about parental controls, game sharing, and more, but Valve has been working away at a solution. Currently available in the Steam Beta, Steam Families offer a range of options and features that any household should look into. Let's dive into how it works and what you can do with it.
How to start a Steam Family

By opting in on the Steam Beta Client, you will have the option to create a Steam Family with up to five members that are either given an Adult or Child account status. Once set up, you can view and manage your family directly on Steam, on a browser, or via the mobile app. To access the steam beta, open Steam, select the Steam button, and go into Settings. From there, select Interface > Steam Families Beta under Client Beta Participation.

Read more
How to use Discord on PS5
The Discord shop.

The go-to voice and text-chat platform for gamers the world over, it was rather surprising how long it took Sony to add Discord integration for the PS5. As it stands, there still isn’t a native Discord app you can use on the console. That being said, you can still use the Discord app on your phone or tablet to access voice chat on the PS5. We’ve put together this guide to teach you how it’s done.

Read more
Best Nintendo Switch deals: consoles, games, and accessories
Original Switch next to Switch OLED.

With so many handheld consoles competing for your attention, it's no surprise that the Nintendo Switch is easily winning, especially given how many great first-party titles it has. Not only that, but there are three different versions to pick from: the Nintendo Switch, Nintendo Switch Lite, or Nintendo Switch OLED, so you can pick the one that fits your budget the best. Of course, even if you go for the cheapest option, taking advantage of a good deal is always worth it, and while there aren't a lot of great game console deals on the Switch itself, we have gone out and found a couple options that might be worth checking out.

We've also collected some great Nintendo Switch video game deals and accessories deals, so be sure to check out those, too.
Best Nintendo Switch deals
Nintendo Switch OLED Model: Pokémon Scarlet & Violet Edition -- $320, was $360

Read more