Skip to main content

Flickr’s free users with more than 1,000 photos need to make a decision

Beginning January 8, if you have a free Flickr account that has more than 1,000 photos or videos, you’ll no longer be able to upload any new content unless you upgrade to its paid plan.

And if you don’t upgrade this month, the company will start deleting your content — beginning with the oldest uploads first — until your account meets the new free limit of 1,000 photos or videos.

The move is part of several recent changes to hit the photo-sharing and storage site following its acquisition by SmugMug in April 2018.

Flickr users with more than 1,000 images or videos who don’t want to pay for a $50-a-year (or $7-a-month) Pro subscription need to rescue their content before February 5 if they’re storing any of it exclusively on Flickr’s servers. And with Flickr previously offering a terabyte of free storage, there could be some major downloading sessions in the pipeline for a number of users.

We should point out that anyone with a free Flickr account who uploaded more than 1,000 photos with a Creative Commons license before November 1, 2018, will not have any of it deleted. In addition, content in the Flickr Commons collection, which has been provided by institutions, will not be removed from the site.

Flickr’s Pro option

If you’ve invested a lot of time and effort in your Flickr collection but are currently a free user, you may want to take a serious look at its Pro offering, which means you won’t have to worry about deleting your work to meet the new limit.

Flickr’s Pro option gets you storage for an unlimited number of photos at full resolution, as well as ad-free browsing. Since November 2018, Pro also offers advanced photo stats for mobile so you can see how your work is performing on the site. You’ll also have access to priority assistance from Flickr’s support team, as well as special deals that include discounts on Adobe’s Creative Cloud, 50 percent savings on a SmugMug portfolio site, 20 percent off gear from Peak Design, and more. Starting “early in 2019,” Pro users will be able to upload videos of up to 10 minutes in length, increased from three minutes. Another incoming feature is the ability to display Pro images at resolutions of up to 5K.

So, to recap, if you have a free Flickr account and have more than 1,000 photos or videos on its servers, then time is running out to save your work if you’re holding any of it exclusively on the site.

Editors' Recommendations

Trevor Mogg
Contributing Editor
Not so many moons ago, Trevor moved from one tea-loving island nation that drives on the left (Britain) to another (Japan)…
Epic Games bans more than 1,000 cheaters in 1st week of Fortnite World Cup
fortnite world cup more than 1000 cheaters banned

The Fortnite World Cup is just underway, but Epic Games already has its hands full with cheaters who are trying to get away with an unfair advantage over other competitors.

Epic Games revealed in a blog post titled Fortnite - Competitive Game Integrity that in the first week of the Fortnite World Cup, the developer has already banned 1,163 accounts from competitive play for 14 days for bypassing region locks and playing in multiple regions in the tournament, which are against the rules. Out of these banned players, 196 have already won prizes, so their winnings were forfeited.

Read more
Flickr axes Creative Commons limit to give free users more wiggle room
flickr creative commons in memoriam 7564234982 1e38826055 o

Creative Commons images and other freely licensed photographs will no longer count toward Flickr’s 1,000-photo limit on free accounts. On Friday, March 8, Flickr opened up free account limitations to exclude Creative Commons images, while also moving to preserve users images after death with "in memoriam" accounts.

Flickr is the world’s largest depository of public Creative Commons images, with more than 500 million graphics designated with the license. When Flickr adjusted free account limitations last year after its acquisition by SmugMug, the platform protected the existing images on the platform, excluding them from the new 1,000-photo limit on free accounts. 

Read more
Flickr to drop the ax on free users, will begin deleting old photos in March
public domain images

Beginning March 12, Flickr will start deleting photos from free user accounts to bring them within a new 1,000-photo limit -- a delay from the February 5 deadline following a surge of complaints from users who couldn't download their media fast enough.

The new photo limit, announced with SmugMug's acquisition of the company last year, meant discontinuation of the free 1TB of storage space that was previously granted to users, restricting free users to only 1.000 pics. Flickr users with more than 1,000 photos have a few options to avoid losing pictures.

Read more