Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. Social Media
  3. News

Instagram will give users chance to fix accounts in danger of being banned

Add as a preferred source on Google

Instagram will start issuing warnings to users who are in danger of having their accounts on the social media platform banned. This is one of the changes being implemented to address policy violations.

In a blog post, Instagram introduced a new notification process that will inform people if their account is at risk of being disabled. The alert will contain the posts, comments, and stories that were deleted from the account, as well as the reason for their removal.

Recommended Videos

“If you post something that goes against our guidelines again, your account may be deleted,” the notification says. This gives users the chance to change how they handle their accounts to prevent them from being taken down, instead of suddenly finding out that their accounts have vanished.

The notification will also offer the chance to appeal content deleted for violations of the nudity and pornography, bullying and harassment, hate speech, drug sales, and counter-terrorism policies. If Instagram finds that content was deleted by mistake, it will restore the post and scratch the violation from the account’s record.

Previously, people had to go through Instagram’s Help Center to appeal moderation decisions. With the appeals now possible through the new notifications, the process will be easier for users who believe that their content was taken down in error.

Under the current policy, Instagram disables accounts that have a certain percentage of inappropriate content. The social media platform is upgrading that policy by also removing accounts that commit a certain number of violations within a window of time.

The specifics of the new policies are purposely kept hidden so that users will not be able to exploit the new system. The update appears to be helpful in keeping problematic accounts off of the platform. In addition, while content may still be removed by mistake, it will be much simpler to make an appeal for its restoration.

The new notifications come about a month after Instagram said that it would be rolling out advertisements on the Explore section over the next few months. The ads will not appear on the grid view that display photos and videos of suggested accounts to follow, but rather on the feed that results after tapping on the content.

Aaron Mamiit
Aaron received an NES and a copy of Super Mario Bros. for Christmas when he was four years old, and he has been fascinated…
Facebook wants users to train its algorithm instead of fighting it
The new Your Algorithm feature lets users fine-tune Feed and Reels without relying on likes and scrolling alone.
Facebook Your Algorithm featured image official

Facebook's algorithm has spent years trying to figure out what users want to see, usually by watching what they like, comment on, and scroll past. Now, Meta is giving users a more direct way to have a say. Facebook is rolling out Your Algorithm, an AI-powered feature that lets people fine-tune their Feed and Reels recommendations by telling the platform, in their own words, what they want to see more or less of.

Facebook's algorithm is finally taking requests

Read more
I picked 6 Amazon Prime Day deals to make your home office more comfortable
Give your workspace a much-needed upgrade without paying full price.
best-ergonomic-chair-standing-desk-prime-day-deal-2026

Prime Day is a good excuse to finally upgrade the home office setup where you spend most of the day working. I’ve rounded up six ergonomic office chairs and standing desks that can make your workspace more comfortable, flexible, and productive. Whether you need better support or more room to move, these deals cover different budgets.

Flexispot ErgoX Ergonomic Office Chair - $250 (29% off)

Read more
Instagram may soon let you lurk on profiles without leaving a trace
Instagram may finally solve your biggest fear of accidentally liking an old post.
Instagram on an iPhone.

Have you ever scrolled through someone's profile and accidentally liked a photo from four years ago? Instagram may be working on a way to stop that.

Leaker and reverse engineer Alessandro Paluzzi posted on X on Oct. 3 about a read-only mode the app appears to be developing. The feature would essentially turn profile browsing into spectator mode, removing several ways to interact with an account.

Read more