Home > Mobile > How to stream Google I/O this week, and our…

How to stream Google I/O this week, and our favorite sessions so far

Google I/O, Google’s huge annual developer conference, begins on June 25, and like other years it’s a not-to-be-missed event for tech fans. While space at the event itself is restricted, Google is kind enough to provide live-streaming video of all the presentations and workshops that take place over the two days, so everyone can join in the fun.

However, not everything that happens at Google I/O is relevant to the casual observer, so we’ve put together the following schedule to help ensure you don’t miss the best of the 2014 event. 

Wednesday, June 25

Event When
Keynote address 9am PT/12pm ET
What’s New in Android 1pm PT/4pm ET
Wearable Computing with Google 3pm PT/6pm ET
Fireside Chat about Android 4pm PT/7pm ET

On June 25, the very first event is one that shouldn’t be missed. It’s the keynote address, which starts at 9am PT, and nothing is scheduled until 1pm later in the day, so expect it to be a marathon event. Last year saw the keynote concentrate on software, not hardware, and we’re expecting this year to be the same.

If you’re not exhausted after the keynote, then at 1pm PT on the same day, a What’s New in Android event could be worth watching, but may rehash what was covered during the keynote, just with an emphasis on the technical aspects. At 3pm PT a Wearable Computing with Google event may end up being the same. The final event of the day is a Fireside Chat about Android at 4pm PT, which has turned up some interesting points in previous years, thanks to the more informal setting. 

Thursday, June 26

Moving on to June 26, the day’s events get far more technical and more relevant to developers. At 9am PT, an event with the tantalizing title A 3D Tablet, an OSCAR, and a Little Cash. Tango, Spotlight, Ara, ATAP sounds intriguing. At 3pm PT there’s an Innovate with the Glass Platform meeting, which may offer some insight into the future of Glass. Finally, at 4pm PT, there’s Robotics in a New World, which may be worth checking out.

Links to the individual live streams aren’t ready at the time of writing, but they will appear here eventually, and we’ll add them in when they’ve been published. Alternatively, if you own an Android device, then the keynote and the developer sessions can all be watched via the official Google I/O app, available through Google Play Store.

While you wait, however, you can take a look at all the rumors and news we expect at Google I/O.

Get our Top Stories delivered to your inbox: