Skip to main content

How to start the Final Fantasy 16 Echoes of the Fallen DLC

Final Fantasy 16 tells a complete story right out of the box, that hasn’t stopped Square-Enix from capitalizing on players’ love of the game with two planned DLCs. The first of these is called Echoes of the Fallen, and it takes place near the end of the main campaign, expanding upon Clive and pals’ adventure with a brand-new questline. This exciting extra excursion is a relatively short slice of content that should take most players between two and three hours to complete – but for diehard fans, especially, there are some important world-building moments within that should make it well worth the investment. Here’s how to start the Echoes of the Fallen DLC.

How to start the Echoes of the Fallen DLC

The first step to accessing the Echoes of the Fallen DLC is to buy it from the PlayStation Store. The DLC is available as a standalone purchase for $10 or as part of the Expansion Pass for $25, the latter of which also includes The Rising Tide DLC slated to launch in 2024.

Clive and friends from Final Fantasy XVI

Once you’ve purchased the Echoes of the Fallen DLC, you’ll need to progress the main campaign to the very end of the game, where you hit the point of no return and have the “Origin” location unlocked on your map. You’ll also need to complete two sidequests: “Where There’s A Will” and “Priceless” for Joshua and Jill, respectively. After clearing these, you’ll be able to approach Charon at Cid’s Hideaway and speak to her to begin the “Echoes of the Fallen” quest.

Editors' Recommendations

Billy Givens
Billy Givens is a freelance writer with over a decade of experience writing gaming, film, and tech content. His work can be…
Honkai: Star Rail 2.0’s interstellar whodunnit mystery is its best chapter yet
Firefly white-haired girl talking to Trailblazer tall gray-haired girl in Honkai: Star Rail Penacony viewpoint

When I boot up Honkai: Star Rail to try its 2.0 update, I immediately take off to its new planet, Penacony, the Land of Dreams. As soon as I check into my hotel room, an introductory chapter passes me between pretty, charming people who seem to ask me the same question at every turn: Are you sure you want to trust me?

It’s a question that ties in with the recurring theme of destiny Star Rail sows in its prologue and strengthens it with narrative and gameplay told over the course of Penacony’s entry arc. While Honkai: Star Rail's side quests historically don't change the fates of playable characters, they can for less significant ones. Its 2.0 update takes that one step further.

Read more
Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth preload guide: release time, file size, and preorder
Cloud and his friends overlook a scenic field.

It's time to start sharpening your buster swords and slotting your Materia because Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth is right around the corner. This second chapter in the remake trilogy is one of the most anticipated games of 2024, so fans are no doubt eager to rejoin Cloud and Avalanche as they step out of Midgar to continue the hunt for Sephiroth.

For an adventure this big, you need to be ready the moment the game becomes available so you don't waste any time making space on your PS5 or get stuck waiting for a massive download when you could be playing. While Chadly is away, we will give you all the necessary data on Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth's preload information.
Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth release time

Read more
The best PS5 games for 2024
Peter and Miles leap in the air in Marvel's Spider-Man 2.

The PlayStation 5 is looking to dominate the console landscape with its incredible library of games. Like the rest of the industry, Sony saw several major game delays in 2022 (and more this year), but has since dropped several new hit games like God of War Ragnarok, the Resident Evil 4 remake, and Alan Wake 2, among others. There are plenty of games out on PS5 for every kind of gamer.

And there are plenty more great titles on the way — don't forget to check out our list of the best upcoming PS5 games that will come out later this year.

Read more