Skip to main content

Pokémon Legends: Arceus: All save file bonuses

While each Pokémon title has built off the previous one, it hasn’t been until recently that the series has been able to take advantage of modern technologies to really encourage and reward longtime fans of the series. Sure, the games can’t support including every single Pokémon from the entire series anymore, but the more streamlined roster found in Pokémon Legends: Arceus is still impressive considering how far the game pushes the series in every other respect. Even with the new open world, revamped battle system, and overhaul to how the main story and quests are presented, it is still the drive to catch and catalog every Pokémon that is at the heart of the experience.

Before the Switch, it was difficult for older Pokémon games to recognize your previous experience with the series. There were some little rewards here and there, but the developers didn’t really make a major point of giving out special bonuses to anyone who played the previous games until Pokémon Legends: Arceus. Depending on which games in the series you’ve played, you can unlock some special, exclusive items and content. If you’re curious about what each safe file bonus there is, and how to claim them, in Pokémon Legends: Arceus, we’ve broken them all down for you here.

See more

Pokémon: Let’s Go Eevee and Pokémon: Let’s Go Pikachu

A pikachu and eevee mask.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

If you have save data from this expanded and more fleshed-out version of the hit mobile game Pokémon GO, you can get two special cosmetic items to wear while adventuring in Pokémon Legends: Arceus. These two are the Pikachu Mask and Eevee Mask, which your character will wear on their head. Thankfully you can get both the Pikachu and Eevee masks no matter which version of Pokémon: Let’s Go you played.

To unlock these masks in-game, simply talk to the clothier Anthe once you’ve become a member of the Galaxy Expedition team and she will tell you a special package came in for you with the items inside.

Pokémon Sword and Pokémon Shield

The kimono outfit in Pokémon Legends: Arceus.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

If Pokémon Legends: Arceus reads that you have Pokémon Sword or Pokémon Shield data on your console, you can get two different rewards. The first is a brand new outfit called the Kimono Set. This is a more traditional, old-school style outfit very fitting for the setting of the game. Just like the masks, you can unlock it by simply talking to Anthe again after joining the Galaxy Expedition team.

The other reward is much more exciting. With save data from either of the prior games, you can gain access to an exclusive Research Task that sends you on a quest to find and eventually add to your roster, the Mythic Pokémon Shaymin. This bonus will take a much longer time to get, however, since the request won’t become available until after you’ve completed the entire main story for Pokémon Legends: Arceus.

Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Pokémon Shining Pearl

The modern galactic uniform.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

Finally, the last games you can get special bonuses for having played are the most recent remakes, Pokémon Brilliant Diamond and Pokémon Shining Pearl. Again, you get two different bonuses for having played either of these titles, the first of which is yet another outfit. This time you can sport the more official-looking Modern Galactic Set. This is the full set of Modern Shoes, Modern Trousers, and Modern Jacket, all of which you get just like all the previous cosmetic items.

The second, and final, save data bonus is undoubtedly the most exciting of them all. You once again get access to an exclusive Research Task that leads to one more Pokémon you could otherwise never encounter. This time it is the popular Mythical Pokémon Darkrai. Just like Shaymin, you will have to beat the entire campaign first before this new request opens up.

Editors' Recommendations

Jesse Lennox
Jesse Lennox loves writing, games, and complaining about not having time to write and play games. He knows the names of more…
All secret exits in Super Mario Bros. Wonder
Bowser terrorizes Mario and company in Super Mario Wonder.

Much of your time in Super Mario Bros. Wonder's colorful and vibrant levels is spent collecting Flower Coins and finding fun power-ups that can help you take out enemies, but there are some well-hidden secrets to discover, too. Most notably, you'll want to keep an eye out for secret exits that can uncover some really exciting new stuff to enjoy.

There are a total of seven secret exits in Super Mario Bros. Wonder, and if you're looking to find each and every one of them, look no further than our list below. Of course, you'll want to play the levels through completely if you're looking to find all badges and medals in the game.
Piranha Plants on Parade (World 1)

Read more
All Super Mario Bros. Wonder power-ups, ranked
Mario turning into Super Mario.

Super Mario Bros. Wonder is perhaps the Mario franchise's most colorful and unusual game to date, featuring all manner of dream-like themes and near-endless amounts of creativity. Like any new Mario game, though, it also comes packing some brand-new power-ups alongside a handful of returning classics that everyone knows and loves. All of the power-ups have their unique uses that can help you fend off baddies, reach new areas, or simply create hilarious hijinks, but some are notably more exciting than others.

Here are all of the Super Mario Bros. Wonder power-ups ranked. They'll all come in handy when you're tracking down all of the badges, medals, and Special World entrances.
All Super Mario Bros. Wonder power-ups, ranked
6. Super Mushroom

Read more
All new Pokémon in The Teal Mask DLC
A big green bear Pokémon in the teal mask.

Even though it isn't a new generation, The Teal Mask DLC for Pokémon Scarlet and Violet is still introducing a handful of new Pokémon to add to your Pokédex. Whether or not you've already been filling out and completing your collection in the base game, everyone is curious to see what new types, designs, and abilities a new set of Pokémon brings to the table. Here are all the brand new Pokémon you can find while exploring the Land of Kitakami and their types.
Every new Pokémon in The Teal Mask

Ogerpon (4 types)
Ogerpon is the newest Legendary to be added to the series, and is by default a Grass type. However, in keeping with the theme of masks, it will change its form and type depending on what mask it is wearing, such as the Wellspring mask, Hearthflame mask, and Cornerstone mask. By default, Ogerpon is wearing the titular Teal mask.
This is a dog-themed Poison and Fighting-type Legendary that is a Hero of Kitakami. This Pokémon has no evolutions.
This curious monkey is a Poison and Psychic-type Legendary that also holds the title of Hero of Kitakami. Munkidori has no evolutions.
The final Hero of Kitakami is Fezandipiti, the Poison and Fairy-type Legendary. As usual, this Legendary can't evolve.
A rare Grass and Dragon type, Dipplin is an evolution of Applin.
You could probably guess Poltchageist was a Grass and Ghost type by its name and design. This Pokémon can evolve into Sinistcha using either an Unremarkable Teacup or Masterpiece Teacup.
The evolution of Poltageist we just talked about, Sinistcha remains a Grass and Ghost type.

Read more