Skip to main content

‘Star Wars: Battlefront’ follow-up will feature single-player mode, multiple eras

star wars battlefront campaign eras battlefrontvader
EA confirmed in November that a Star Wars: Battlefront sequel was in development ahead of a release in 2017. We’ve now been given more details about what to expect from the follow-up, thanks to comments made during an earnings call to the company’s investors.

After several teases from EA representatives, Tuesday’s call offered up further confirmation that the sequel will feature a fully fledged campaign, according to a report from IGN. Many fans were disappointed that the 2015 edition of Star Wars: Battlefront lacked a meaty single-player mode, so this news will no doubt be warmly received.

The call also confirmed that “more heroes and characters” would be included in the new game. EA and DICE will have plenty of familiar faces to choose from, because the sequel will apparently buck the trend established by its predecessor and include content from multiple eras of the Star Wars universe.

This means that the sequel to 2015’s Star Wars: Battlefront won’t be confined to the period of time depicted in the original trilogy of movies. However, EA was reticent to offer up any more details regarding which eras would be featured in this year’s game.

Since the second installment in the rebooted Battlefront franchise is expected to release around the same time Star Wars — Episode VIII: The Last Jedi hits theaters, it would make sense for the the time period covered by the ongoing trilogy of films to be included. There’s some doubt as to whether the prequel trilogy will get the same treatment, given that Disney is seemingly eager to avoid reminding fans of those movies’ existence.

Star Wars Battlefront was a fun, faithful take on the Star Wars universe that was ultimately undercut by a lack of key content at launch. It seems like EA and DICE are doing everything possible to ensure that its sequel is a bigger, better experience — but the proof will be in the pudding when the game launches later this year.

Editors' Recommendations

Brad Jones
Brad is an English-born writer currently splitting his time between Edinburgh and Pennsylvania. You can find him on Twitter…
Star Wars Jedi: Survivor’s arachnophobia toggle removes all spiders
Cal Kestis with BD-1 droid on his shoulder.

From endless hordes of Empire goons to hulking Rancors that can crush you in one or two hits, there are no doubt a lot of things to be afraid of in EA's new action-adventure sequel Star Wars Jedi: Survivor. However, if one of your fears happens to be spiders, developer Respawn has got you covered with an arachnophobia toggle that completely removes spiders from the game.

Survivor's Arachnophobia Safe Mode ensures that players who aren't particularly fond of eight-legged creepy-crawlies will never have to engage with any spiders that might crawl their way on-screen partway through the campaign. It's an unexpected addition to a game that is otherwise filled to the brim with strange and unsettling creatures to observe and fight, but spiders no doubt have a special way of freaking some of us out. Many folks are certain to appreciate seeing a choice to avoid arachnids altogether when they find themselves scrolling through the game's suite of accessibility options.

Read more
The best skills to buy first in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor
Jedi Cal Kestis.

Star Wars Jedi: Survivor has improved upon the original game in almost every way, and that includes expanding main character Cal Kestis' wide selection of skills and abilities. Whether it's new stances to engage with or entirely new skill sets to acquire, you'll find plenty to unravel throughout the game's lengthy adventure. If you're just getting started, though, you may find that your limited skill points leave you wondering which skills are worth your investment. Don't fret, though, as we've got the best skills for you to buy first in this guide.

Before we get started, however, be aware that the decisions you make in your skill tree can be reversed by spending 1 skill point, giving you the option to try new builds as you play. Luckily, that shouldn't generally be necessary – especially if you're thorough with your exploration – as Jedi Survivor has no level cap. Because of this, you can continue to grind out infinite skill points whenever you wish. In other words, you can max out the entire skill tree by the end of the game. With that out of the way, here are the best skills to buy first.
Survival Skills

Read more
Not even Nvidia’s RTX 4090 can handle Star Wars Jedi: Survivor
Cal holding his lightsaber with BD-1 on his shoulder.

Nvidia's RTX 4090 is overkill for a vast majority of games, but it seems to have met its match in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor. That's right -- even the best graphics card struggles to maintain more than 35 frames per second (fps) in EA's upcoming title.

Of course, this kind of performance is unintended, and it stems entirely from poor optimization. Will your computer be able to handle the game when it launches tomorrow?

Read more