Skip to main content

Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty Morale guide

Every RPG introduces a set of systems that the player will interact with, or be impacted by, during the game. Action RPGs, and souls-like games such as Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty, layer these systems on top of already challenging gameplay. Not only are you doing your best to master the combat, but also learn what Morale and Fortitude mean in the context of this game. There are some mechanics and systems you could get by with ignoring, however these two do not fall into that category. Don’t get demoralized, though, because we’ll keep your spirits up with this guide explaining everything about Morale in Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty.

What is Morale?

Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty monster

Let’s begin with the basics. Morale is a new system in Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty that functions somewhat like a tug-of-war. By getting a higher Morale rank, your character will deal more and more damage to enemies, as well as take less incoming damage. Your Morale rank can reach a maximum of 25, and is exclusive to your current mission. That means after you leave a mission and begin a new one, it will reset to 1.

Just like stamina or posture in other souls-like games, enemies in Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty also have their own Morale ranks, which you can see above their health bars. If an enemy’s Morale rank is above yours, they will take less damage and deal more, while the opposite will be true if your rank is above theirs. You can tell just how big the discrepancy will be at a glance based on the color of their Morale rank. If it is red, the enemy will deal much more damage and be the most dangerous, purple being slightly above, yellow being comparable, and green being the easiest.

The tug-of-war element comes in how you can gain and lose Morale during each mission. As stated, your Morale can go all the way up to 25 in several ways. Defeating enemies will give you a small number of Morale points, but you can get more if you can land Spirit attacks, Martial Arts, and Fatal Strikes.

Morale will be drained if you get hit by Critical Blows, but mostly when you die in battle. Death will drop your Morale by a large amount.

What is Fortitude?

A soldier in red looks over a burning village.

Fortitude can be thought of as your Morale level baseline. If you have no Fortitude and die a number of times, your Morale will return to 1. However, if you have a Fortitude rank of, say, 15 then your Morale will only drop to 15, even if you continue to die.

Fortitude will also be stage-dependent, and begin at 0 for each mission. You gain Fortitude points by placing both Battle Flags and Marking Flags found within each stage.

Editors' Recommendations

Jesse Lennox
Jesse Lennox loves writing, games, and complaining about not having time to write and play games. He knows the names of more…
Marvel’s Spider-Man 2 has instant open-world character switching
Peter and Miles perched next to each other in Marvel's Spider-Man 2.

Insomniac Games has finally confirmed whether or not players will be able to switch between the two playable versions of Spider-Man while exploring the open world of Marvel's Spider-Man 2.

Ever since it was confirmed that Peter Parker and Miles Morales would both be playable in Marvel's Spider-Man 2, the question of whether or not players would be able to switch between them at any time in the open world arose. Although Marvel's Spider-Man 2's gameplay debut at the PlayStation Showcase didn't confirm whether or not that was the case, Creative Director Bryan Intihar revealed the answer in an interview with Eurogamer: yes, you can. 
"We have content designed around Peter, we have content designed around Miles, and we have content where you can play either. You'll be able to -- in the open world -- freely switch between them with a simple button press," Intihar confirmed. Insomniac Games also confirmed to Eurogamer that Peter and Miles will each have their own skill tree, although they will also share a third. For the most part, it looks like players will have a lot of freedom about how and with whom they want to tackle any sort of open-world objectives or sidequests.
Things will get a little more restrictive during more linear story missions, like the one we saw during the PlayStation Showcase, though. "When you're playing the main story, we control when you switch between Pete and Miles ... it's done in service to the story when we're making those switches, for sure," Intihar told Eurogamer. "So, as you saw on that gameplay reveal, which is a segment of the main story, we are predetermining those based on what we want to do for how the story plays out."
Marvel's Spider-Man 2 will be released exclusively for PlayStation 5 sometime this fall.

Read more
The best games on PlayStation Plus, Extra, and Premium
A person plays Crash Bandicoot using a PS5 DualSense controller.

PlayStation Plus has gone through several iterations and changes since it was first introduced. Originally, the service wasn't required for online play at all and rewarded subscribers with extra discounts and free monthly games. Once the PlayStation 4 generation began, it was required for online play, but still offered those same benefits.

Now, PS Plus is divided into three different tiers of subscriptions. The basic tier, PS Plus Essential, still gets three games per month added, while the Extra and Premium tiers will have a varying number of games added to their catalogs. With hundreds of games already and more coming and going all the time, even the most dedicated gamer won't be able to play everything on offer. To help you get the most bang for your buck, and so that no hidden gems go under your radar, here are all the best games to play on PS Plus Essential, Extra, and Premium right now.

Read more
Street Fighter 6’s World Tour mode is the best fighting game tutorial ever
A regular fight in Street Fighter 6 World Tour.

As hard as I’ve tried, I’ve never quite been able to wrap my head around traditional 2D fighting games. I’ve clicked with the fast pace of Super Smash Bros., but I’ve just never been able to hold my own online in a King of Fighters XV match. For me, it’s always been an education and onboarding issue. Most fighting games I’ve tried teach me their wealth of nuances in a lightning-fast tutorial that shows me how to do dozens of things in the span of a few minutes. With that whirlwind pace and a lack of practical context, I always find it difficult to actually retain all of that information.

Street Fighter 6 is perhaps the first 2D fighting game that fully solves my problem and that’s because of its standout World Tour mode. At first glance, World Tour seems like a meaty piece of single-player content for players to pick at between matches. But for more casual brawlers like me, it serves a much more important purpose: It’s the most thorough, effective fighting game tutorial ever crafted.
Learning to fight
As a piece of single-player content, World Tour is an ambitious mode. It’s a full-on action RPG that plays like a classic Yakuza game. Players explore Metro City, and a few other locations, in 3D and stop to brawl in 2D battles. It’s a lengthy campaign that takes over 15 hours to complete and is filled with RPG hooks, from stats to skill trees. It’s an impressive piece of content that helps make Street Fighter 6 feel like a fully fleshed-out release on day one.

Read more