How to delete your Twitter account

How to delete your Twitter account, because tweeting isn't for the faint of heart

how to delete your twitter account pexels photo 58639
Pexles / Freestocks.org

Tired of the 280-character microblogging platform that is Twitter? Sick of all the obnoxious hashtag trends, sponsored tweets, lack of civility, and trolls? Thankfully, it isn’t complicated to delete your Twitter account — in fact, the process is easy if you know what you’re doing.

Note that there is no way to immediately delete your profile. Instead, the following steps will deactivate your account, after which it’s queued for permanent deletion. And you won’t be able to deactivate your account from the mobile app, meaning you need to visit the actual website to do so. Once done, Twitter will retain your data for 30 days, allowing you to log in and reactivate your account should you change your mind and decide you truly can’t live without #FollowFridays.

Even though Twitter will eliminate your account, it doesn’t guarantee that your tweets won’t be indexed by search engines like Google and Bing. That means your tweets could still exist somewhere — a non-issue if you posted innocuous stuff, of course. Per Twitter policy, you will not be able to reactivate your account after 30 days. If you’ve amassed a huge following, you will lose them forever.

If you’re ready to pull the trigger and end your Twitter account, check out the instructions below for details.

Step 1: Navigate to Twitter and sign into your profile as you would normally.

Step 2: Click on your avatar icon in the upper-right corner of the screen and select “Settings and privacy” from the resulting drop-down menu.

how to delete your twitter account twittersettings

Step 3: Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click “Deactivate Account.” This will take you to one final page, with details about how deactivation works. Click the “Deactivate” button once you’ve read the information.

twitter-delete-screen-2

Step 4: When prompted, enter your account password to verify that you really, really want to deactivate your account. (They want you to stay, don’t they?) After that, you’re 30 days away from being free. The deactivation should kick in after a few minutes, but some of your info may be viewable on the site for a few days afterward. Rest assured that it will be wiped with time.

During the deactivation period, your username won’t be available to start a new account until those 30 days are up. If you want to use that username or that email to create a new Twitter account before then, you have to first change your Twitter username and email.

Again, deleting Twitter is permanent once you are past that 30-day deactivation period — you can’t get back those old followers or that archive of your old Tweets. Twitter has tools in place to change your username, handle or email without starting all over, so before you delete, make sure that’s a change you really want to make.

Social Media

This band owns Twitter, according to list of top accounts and tweets for 2018

What was the biggest buzz on Twitter in 2018? Twitter's 2018 Year in Review highlights the biggest tweets, accounts, and hashtags. The most-tweeted celebrities, movies, TV shows, athletes, politicians and more in Twitter's 2018 trends.
Computing

How to change your Gmail password in just a few quick steps

Regularly updating your passwords is a good way to stay secure online, but each site and service has their own way of doing it. Here's a quick guide on how to change your Gmail password in a few short steps.
Computing

Change your Outlook password quickly and easily by following these steps

Keeping your digital accounts locked up with strong, unique passwords is important, so learning how to change your Outlook password quickly and easily is one of the best ways to stay safe online.
Mobile

Free yourself! How to unlock a phone from the icy hands of your wireless carrier

Do you want to know how to unlock a phone through your carrier or a third-party service like DoctorSIM? Regardless of which way you want to go, we've compiled a list of requirements and methods for doing so.
Social Media

Like them or not, YouTube Stories just expanded to more channels

YouTube Stories are exiting testing -- beginning today, the feature will be available to channels with more than 10,000 subscribers. The launch also comes with a new comment tool and updates based on test feedback.
Social Media

Instagram’s new Close Friends List lets you decide who should see your Story

Have a story to share, but don't want to send it to everyone? Instagram now offers a close friends list that will allow users to share stories with only the users included on that list.
Social Media

Survey of teens says social media lets them connect with friends and get support

A survey of teenagers shows the ways that social media sites can be beneficial to them, like feeling more connected to their friends, the ability to interact with different people, and as a venue to get support when they are struggling.
Social Media

Hotel chain offers an Instagram ‘sitter’ who will post photos for you

If the pressure to post stunning Instagram photos is ruining your vacations, then how about hiring a local Instagram influencer to do the job for you while you go off and enjoy yourself? Well, such a service now exists.
Social Media

Ride the rails and share your stories with Amtrak’s new social media residency

Amtrak is looking for travel fans with a knack for telling stories on social media. The new Amtrak social media residency program wants amateur travelers to share photos, video, and written content from aboard long-distance trips.
Social Media

Hangouts isn’t being hung out to dry in 2020, Google says

According to a report, Google may shut down Google Hangouts by 2020. While Hangouts was once Google's top-tier messaging app, the app has since been neglected in favor of Android Messages.
Social Media

Tumblr bans nudity to create ‘a safe place for creative expression’

Tumblr will soon no longer allow images with adult content. The company says the change is one that's designed to help more creators feel comfortable sharing on the platform, but admits the change won't happen overnight.
Social Media

Members can share the same Story with Facebook’s new Group Stories

Facebook Group members can now view and share Group Stories. Unlike the Stories for an individual user, the new tool allows members to contribute to the same Group Story, if the feature isn't turned off by an admin.
Social Media

You can now share saved Facebook posts with a Pinterest-like collection tool

Facebook collections can now be shared with friends if you also want to allow them to contribute to the list. Facebook is rolling out an update that allows users to add a contributor to their collections, or lists of saved Facebook posts.
Mobile

Broadway actor tells Kanye West to get off his phone during opening night

Theater actors can get understandably upset when they spot someone in the audience fiddling with their phone instead of watching the show. The other night that audience member was Kanye West, and he got called out for it.