Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. Social Media
  3. News

Shut off your shared account on Instagram — bug reveals personal notifications

Add as a preferred source on Google

“Hooray!” exclaimed Instagram enthusiasts after the social networking service revealed its latest feature update. Users are finally allowed to manage multiple accounts in one app, but perhaps the Internet’s collective tail wagging was premature.

The bug is as follows. If you and, say, a colleague have unison management of a single account to more easily post content, the app will let your colleague see the notifications sent to your personal account. Ouch. The notification will only be visible for a limited period of time, but is troublesome enough even at that level. It doesn’t affect the management of shared accounts though, meaning notifications won’t be shown between different shared accounts. Personnel managing companies’ social media channels might be better off letting one person take care of the account until the issue has been dealt with by Instagram.

Recommended Videos

The issue was first reported by Androidcentral, which also reports that the notifications will appear according to the the original account holder’s settings. While clicking the notifications won’t take you to the activity in question if it was on a non-public account, there’s still a bit of information that is revealed from that simple notification. Users interacting and setting off the notification will have their names revealed to engage with an account and others see a snippet of their comment. It’s not restricted to regular posts either; direct messages will also be partially revealed, though this does not apply to images. The website reports that these notifications aren’t consistent, seemingly stopping at random after a day for some of the staff.

Since there’s inconsistency, it’s impossible to say whether the problem is present across all users. But anyone holding a shared account should take heed if they’re wary about their personal information leaking. Instagram is reportedly working on a fix, but until the situation has been remedied, the notifications will still be showing to the wrong accounts.

Dan Isacsson
Being a gamer since the age of three, Dan took an interest in mobile gaming back in 2009. Since then he's been digging ever…
Prepare yourself for longer videos on Instagram. And oh, they’ll be in wide-screen view, too.
Instagram is testing 90-minute widescreen videos that link Reels to full episodes.
instagram-logo-on-phone

Instagram is testing a new format for long-form videos called Features. It allows select creators to upload horizontal videos running up to 90 minutes long. Instagram has already tested the new format with creators in Brazil, and now, it's expanding to tens of thousands of creators across the US.

How will Instagram's new Features format work?

Read more
You can now watch Instagram Reels on Apple TV, because why not?
Instagram's new TV app supports Reels, longer videos, and live shows, plus cross-device playback so users can pick up where they left off.
Instagram App on Apple TV main featured

Instagram is making its way to yet another screen, and this time, Apple TV is getting a taste of the Reels rabbit hole. The company has launched a dedicated Instagram app for Apple TV, bringing Reels, longer videos, and live shows to the big screen. So, if watching one quick clip on a phone somehow turns into an hour of scrolling, there's now a much larger screen for that.

Instagram brings Reels and more to Apple TV

Read more
Losing sleep to late-night doomscrolling? This gadget blocks distracting apps in your bedroom
Brick Night uses Bluetooth to automatically restrict selected apps when your phone enters your sleep space.
Brick Night Bluetooth location-based app blocker

I have lost count of how many times I have gone to bed thinking I will finally sleep on time, only to somehow end up scrolling Instagram or X again. A few minutes turn into an hour, then another, and before I notice, it is 2 or 3 a.m. The next morning, I am usually annoyed with myself because I could have just slept and felt considerably better for the day ahead.

It is also a surprisingly hard habit to beat. Knowing you should put the phone down does not always help once it is already in your hand. Brick Night is a new gadget built around that exact problem. Instead of relying on you to remember to turn on an app blocker, it automatically restricts selected apps and websites when your phone enters your chosen sleep space during the hours you set.

Read more