Skip to main content

So much for Three Houses: Fire Emblem gets fourth house as DLC

Fire Emblem: Three Houses - DLC Wave 4 Trailer - Nintendo Switch

Fire Emblem: Three Houses was the Digital Trends 2019 Game of the Year, and for very good reason. The turn-based role-playing game from Nintendo features a tremendous story and strategic combat, and as its name implies, there are three different houses to choose from in order to add replayability. Actually, there were three houses, as the game’s latest DLC pack is adding a secret fourth house.

Releasing as part of the game’s Expansion Pass on February 12, Fire Emblem: Three Houses — Cindered Shadows is a new side story that follows the previously secret Ashen Wolves house. It isn’t a full-fledged house filled with numerous characters like the other three, but it includes four students, as well as a new Abyss area to explore. The house itself is located underneath the Garreg Mach Monastery, which is where the other three houses are located. It’s also going to be the newest playable stage in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate, which is also adding protagonist Byleth to the game.

Related Videos

You won’t be limited to using the new characters in just the new side content, either. Once you have progressed in the expansion’s story, you’ll be able to bring them up to the surface and use them in the rest of the game. Balthus is a brawler who can make use of claws to deliver damage up close, Hapi is a magic-wielding knight, Yuri deals damage with a sword, and Constance is a flying unit who also wields magic. Using them in tandem could make your fight above ground substantially easier.

New characters in Fire Emblem DLC

You’ll be able to get Cindered Shadows as part of the Expansion Pass, which is available to purchase now for $25. It includes extra cosmetic items, challenges, units, quests, and even a sauna. The game has received free updates, too, adding more battle appearance options and raising the save slot cap from 5 to 25. This will let you try every combination of units you can think of as you battle through the game’s dark and emotional storyline.

Fire Emblem: Three Houses is available now exclusively for Nintendo Switch. Only one version of the game is available, so you don’t need to buy multiple copies for the full content as you do with the Pokémon series.

Editors' Recommendations

Metroid Prime 4: Release date prediction, trailers, gameplay, and more
Samus holding cube in Metroid Dread.

One of Nintendo's lesser-known yet still beloved franchises is Metroid -- a series that originally began on the NES, putting us in the shoes of bounty hunter Samus Aran. Now, over 35 years later, fans are eagerly awaiting the next entry in the series, Metroid Prime 4, which has been in the works for several years.

The Prime series takes the formula introduced in the 2D games and turns it into a 3D, first-person adventure that still very much feels like Metroid, despite the perspective shift.

Read more
The best multiplayer games on Nintendo Switch
Mario and his friends.

Part of the Nintendo Switch's appeal is its versatility -- you can play it at home on your TV or on the go in portable mode. This versatility also applies to multiplayer and co-op games, which can be played with single Joy-Con controllers, in tabletop mode, and wirelessly both online and locally. Better yet, many of these Nintendo Switch games allow for crossplay with other consoles and PCs.

And while the Switch might not be the competitive powerhouse that the PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X are, it still offers an incredible library of multiplayer games. In fact, the portable console is home to some of the best co-op experiences we've seen in this generation, and new competitive games are being added all the time. Here are our favorites, whether you're a fan of raucous racing games, mellow simulators, or monster-hunting titles of the finest caliber.
The best multiplayer games on Nintendo Switch

Read more
Metroid Prime Remastered makes one of the best games of all time even better
Samus stares up at Meta Ridley in Metroid Prime Remastered.

After countless rumors and years of disappointment as those leaks failed to materialize, Metroid Prime Remastered is finally a reality. Though its existence may not have come at a shock at this point, Nintendo’s surprise shadow launch of it following this week’s Direct showcase certainly caught fans off guard. Shortly after the presentation wrapped up, I was unexpectedly revisiting my favorite video game of all time with all of its creative glory intact.

As its name implies, Metroid Prime Remastered isn’t a total overhaul of the Nintendo GameCube classic. Every second from the first-person adventure game unfolds exactly as you remember it, from its thrilling opening aboard an abandoned space frigate to its mournful trek through Phendrana Drifts. The visuals have been modernized and a new control layout makes it play like a modern shooter, but those are the only real changes you’ll find through the adventure.

Read more