Skip to main content

How to permanently upgrade stats in God of War Ragnarok: Valhalla

Despite all falling into the roguelike genre, every game within that category handles progression differently. Some have no permanent upgrades and instead force the player to simply rely on their skills and luck during each run, while others dole out buffs and tools that the player can accumulate over multiple runs to make each one a bit easier.

God of War Ragnarök: Valhalla falls into the latter category thanks to Master Seals. These special rewards allow Kratos to get permanent buffs to his base stats, easing the difficulty a bit for those who need it. Just getting the seals isn’t enough, and not even Mimir will give you a clue on how to spend them, so we’ll help you return Kratos to his godly status.

How to permanently increase stats

A menu showing different objectives in God of War: Ragnarok Valhalla.
Sony Santa Monica

Once you have finished the DLC’s tutorial run, you will begin accumulating Mastery Seals by doing different Objectives and Labors while in a run. These seals will stay with you between runs, so even if you don’t spend them right away, you won’t risk losing them, like you would Fleeting Echoes.

While you’re at The Shore, there are a few big tablets you can interact with, one of which has the classic Omega symbol on top. This is the Tablet of Reflection, which is where you can spend your Mastery Seals. You can spend these seals on either Health, Rage, Strength, Defense, Runic, Vitality, and Cooldown, but once you get further into the game, you also unlock Critical Health Regen, Health Looter, and Starting Resurrection Stone.

They all start out cheap, but every time you want to upgrade the same stat, it will cost more and more Mastery Seals. Choose which stats you value most and invest early to gain an edge in the trials ahead.

Editors' Recommendations

Jesse Lennox
Jesse Lennox loves writing, games, and complaining about not having time to write and play games. He knows the names of more…
All Stim upgrade locations in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor
Cal picking up a stim upgrade with BD.

Just like Fallen Order before it, Star Wars Jedi: Survivor has many Souls-like elements. Outside of the general flow of combat, and the way Meditation Points work, Stims are essentially analogous to your Estus flas -- a limited healing resource that you can only replenish by resting. You will only start with a meager two Stims, leaving you with very little room for error even on low-difficulty settings. Thankfully, Stim Upgrades allow you to increase that number by one for each you manage to find. Given how powerful these are, you'll want to gather up as many as possible to ensure your survival in the galaxy far, far away. If The Force isn't so strong with you, allow us to guide you to all the Stim Upgrade locations in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor.

We will outline where to find each Stim organized by the planet they're on, so minor spoilers ahead if you haven't seen every planet in the game yet.
All Stim Upgrades on Coruscant
Undercity Meats

Read more
How to fast travel in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor
star wars jedi survivor high republic facility

Cal Kestis has a new set of planets to explore in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor, and these are much larger than any he's previously had to traverse. As big as they are, they are also dense with things to collect and do off the beaten path. There's also a ton of things you won't be able to do until you come back later with new abilities. Cal's a fit young Jedi, but you aren't expected to hoof it across the entire galaxy every time you need to get somewhere. If you want to get where you're going faster than the Millennium Falcon, here's how to fast travel in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor.

Read more
How to start the Burning Shores DLC in Horizon Forbidden West
Aloy flying.

Aloy's adventure wasn't fully concluded at the end of Horizon Forbidden West, but you don't have to wait for the third game to continue her journey. With the Burning Shores DLC, a brand new region is unlocked. This area is home to the Quen tribe and brings in a new character named Seyka to accompany Aloy on a new quest. Of course, there will also be tons of sidequests, new machines to hunt, and sights to see. If you're interested in exploring this new and dangerous region, there are some requirements you should know about that could prevent you from jumping in as quickly as you think. Here's everything you need to know about how to start the Burning Shores DLC in Horizon Forbidden West.
How to start the Burning Shores DLC

The major requirement for accessing the new content (outside of purchasing it, of course) is that this takes place after the main campaign, unlike the DLC for the first game that could be accessed in the middle of the story. This means that you need to have gotten through all main story missions ending in "Singularity." Your save must be at this point to access the DLC. If you finished the game and started a New Game + run, but haven't gotten back up to that point, you won't be able to start the DLC until you get there again. The final mission of the game has a recommended level of 35, while the first mission of Burning Shores is 38, so you may want to do some side activities beforehand if you are underleveled.

Read more