How to delete your Netflix viewing history

Are you sharing a Netflix account with friends or family and don’t want them to know you watched The Cobbler? Is one of your college roommates still using your login to watch weird anime? Or, maybe you’re tired of Netflix recommendations that don’t hit the mark.

There are plenty of reasons you might want to clear your Netflix viewing history. Thankfully, the process for doing so is incredibly simple — even if it’s not immediately apparent. Everybody has streaming skeletons in their closets, so go ahead and clear yours out. Here’s how to delete your Netflix viewing history.

Step 1: First, log in to your Netflix account using your browser of choice. Because your viewing history is specific to your profile, you’ll need to make sure you choose the right one if there are multiple users under your login. If you accidentally select the wrong profile, don’t worry. You can choose a different one using the drop-down menu in the upper-right corner.

delete netflix queue screen 1

Step 2: Next, head to the aforementioned drop-down menu in the right corner and select the button labeled Account.

delete netflix queue screen 2 and a half

Step 3: Once there, scroll down to the Profile & Parental Controls section, and click the blue link labeled View next to Viewing Activity. This will take you to a page showing everything you’ve watched.

Image of Netflix Profile & Parental Controls Section
Daniel Martin/Screenshot

Step 4: To the far right of each entry will be a cancel sign. Hover over the symbol, and you’ll see the text Hide From Viewing History.

Image of Netflix Hide From Viewing History Button
Daniel Martin/Screenshot

Clicking this will remove the entry from your history (and, thus, eliminate any impact it may have had on your personalized recommendations). It may take up to 24 hours for the change to take effect, though.

Something to keep in mind: For television shows, each episode is listed individually, labeled by season and episode title. Clicking the Circle-Backslash icon on a single title will remove only that specific episode. But you don’t have to do this tedious task for every episode because a prompt will pop up asking if you want to delete the entire series from your history, which you can do with one click.

Image of Netflix Hide Show and Hide Series Buttons
Daniel Martin/Screenshot

Step 5: If you want to delete your entire viewing history in one fell swoop, noow you can. If you scroll to the end of your viewing history, there will be an option to Hide All. Click that, then choose Yes, Hide All My Viewing Activity on Netflix’s confirmation pop-up. After 24 hours, Netflix will erase your history.

Image of Netflix Hide All Viewing History Button

And that’s all there is to it. Your viewing history, or just your guilty pleasure shows, will be deleted from your account.

If you found this article helpful, you may also want to check out our guide on how to download movies from Netflix. We also have lists featuring our choice of best TV shows on Netflix and the best movies on Netflix. Happy streaming!

Editors' Recommendations