Skip to main content

Here’s how to vote in this year’s Golden Joystick Awards

Voting is open for the 38th annual Golden Joystick Awards, the biggest public-voted video game awards ceremony in the world. This year, the ceremony will completely online.

“Last year the Golden Joystick Awards were held in central London with awards being handed out to developers who had flown in from all around the globe. This year the event will be a truly global, all-digital, affair with a variety of exciting guest hosts, exclusive game trailers, and editorialized video features,” Daniel Dawkins, content director of games and film at Future, said in a statement.

The awards started in 1983 and were originally open to the general public in Britain. Now, everyone around the world can vote.

Here’s some more information about the event.

When are the Golden Joystick Awards?

The ceremony takes place in November, with a specific date to be announced soon.

How can I watch the Golden Joystick Awards?

The awards will be viewable from a few different places. The main way to watch is on the Golden Joystick Awards Twitch channel, and people interested can also check the official Twitter and Facebook accounts for more information.

What are the different categories in the Golden Joystick Awards?

There are several different publicly voted categories in the awards ceremony. The games were decided by a panel of judges in the industry. Categories include:

  • Best Audio
  • Best Game Community
  • Best Game Expansion
  • Best Gaming Hardware
  • PC Game of the Year
  • Best New / Streamer Broadcaster
  • Best Storytelling
  • Best Visual Design
  • Best Multiplayer Game
  • Best Indie Game
  • Esports Game of the Year
  • Mobile Game of the Year
  • Most Wanted Game
  • Nintendo Game of the Year
  • Xbox Game of the Year
  • PlayStation Game of the Year
  • Best Family Game
  • Still Playing Award
  • Best Studio
  • Ultimate Game of the Year
  • Best New Streamer
  • Ultimate Game of the Year

A judging panel will decide other categories, which include:

  • Outstanding Contribution
  • Breakthrough Award
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Critics’ Choice Award
  • Best Performer

How do I vote in the Golden Joystick Awards?

People interested in voting can do so at, and voters will be eligible for a free gaming e-book when they vote. The voting ends on November 2.

The judging panel is made up of “senior editors and journalists from brands such as PC Gamer, Edge Magazine, Official PlayStation Magazine, GamesRadar+, TechRadar, Tom’s Guide, T3 Magazine, Official Xbox Magazine, and more,” according to a press release.

Editors' Recommendations

The Game Awards 2022: Here’s the complete list of nominees
Elden Ring still of the Tarnished fighting the dragon Agheel on horseback.

The full list of nominees for the 2022 Game Awards is here and (as you might have predicted) both Elden Ring and God of War Ragnarok scored big. Other big nominees included games like Horizon Forbidden West and Xenoblade Chronicles 3, while indie titles struggled to break through aside from Stray.

Hosted by Geoff Keighley, The Game Awards is the video game industry's version of the Oscars. This year's show will take place in-person at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles on December 8. Like previous years, it'll live broadcast on various channels like YouTube and Twitch. The show is known for delivering world premiere reveals for upcoming games, as well as giving out a slew of awards in a variety of categories.

Read more
The Game Awards 2021: Here’s the complete list of winners
It Takes Two

The Game Awards 2021 were unlike any other games show we've seen yet. Some of this year's biggest and most well-received games fought it out for Game of the Year, while others walked away with awards in specialized categories like Best Ongoing, Best Narrative, and Best Art Direction. At the end of the day, only one game could take home Game of the Year, and that game was It Takes Two, one of the year's biggest indie darlings.

This year, Deathloop and Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart led the field of nominees, but that only scratched the surface. Metroid Dread, It Takes Two, and Psychonauts 2 were just a few of the heavy hitters that battled for this year's top awards. Halo Infinite kicked off the gold derby by taking home a player's choice trophy (even though the game launched yesterday and wasn't eligible for any other categories).

Read more
The Game Awards 2021: How to watch and what to expect
game awards 2021 how to watch the

The Game Awards is making its yearly appearance as the Game of the Year season heats up. The video game awards show has quickly become a must-watch event for players awaiting the next big announcements and surprises. That goes double for this year's show, as the event's founder, Geoff Keighley, has teased a slew of announcements that promise to be just as big as those of years past. Thankfully, those who are curious won't have long to wait as the ceremony takes place today. Here's what you need to know about it.

THE GAME AWARDS 2021: Official Livestream Today, 7:30p ET / 4:30p PT / 12:30a GMT
When do the Game Awards start?
This year's Game Awards begin at 5 p.m. PT today on Thursday, December 9. As in past years, festivities begin with a 30-minute preshow that starts at 4:30 p.m. PT.
Where can I watch the Game Awards?
The Game Awards is available to watch on both of the major streaming services via its official YouTube and Twitch channels. There will also be feeds on social media sites including Facebook, TikTok, and Twitter. The stream will be featured on Steam, Trovo, and Oculus. Anyone wishing to co-stream the event can do so on the official Game Awards site by signing in and opting in.

Read more