Skip to main content

How to transmog gear in God of War Ragnarok

2018's God of War was the first entry where Kratos would get new pieces and sets of armor that not only altered his appearance but his stats as well. Prior games had some unlockable costumes, but these were purely cosmetic and rewards for players who beat the game or did certain challenges. This concept is certainly not new, but one feature that has been growing in popularity in titles with multiple armor sets, including PlayStation's own Horizon Forbidden West, is transmogrification.



What You Need

  • Fully leveled-up armor

  • Another armor piece you want it to look like

Transmogrification, aka transmog, is the ability to take an armor set you enjoy the stats of and change its appearance to that of a different set. This allows players to not have to choose between looking cool and having good stats. It was known that transmog would be a feature in God of War Ragnarok, however, once you start collecting armor and visiting the shops, you'll find that the option doesn't seem to exist. If you want to know how to transmog your gear in God of War Ragnarok, here's how to do it.

Kratos equipping his armor.
Image used with permission by copyright holder

How to transmog in God of War Ragnarok

While you won't see the option anywhere early, transmog does exist in God of War Ragnarok. You just have to meet some requirements first. Here's how to do it.

Step 1: Find one or more pieces of gear you want to transmog.

Step 2: Upgrade it at shops to the max level.

Step 3: Open your Armor tab in the menu.

Step 4: Select the armor piece.

Step 5: Select a new Edit appearance option.

Step 6: Highlight the armor piece of the same type in your inventory you want it to take the appearance of.

Step 7: Confirm your choice. It is free to do, so you can always change it later if you find better-looking armor.

Editors' Recommendations

Jesse Lennox
Jesse Lennox loves writing, games, and complaining about not having time to write and play games. He knows the names of more…
Starfield: Red Mile location and how to survive
Talking to Mei about the Red Mile in Starfield.

What space game would be complete without a seedy casino somewhere in the galaxy? In Starfield, that is best represented by The Red Mile casino and hotel where those willing to risk their Credits, and their lives, have the chance to strike it rich. Of all the games and entertainment available, the Red Mile challenge is no doubt the most deadly. You're free to visit this planet almost immediately after getting your ship, but this challenge isn't made for a fresh character. Even after you've leveled up, get some decent gear, and feel up to the challenge, the Red Mile Run has a lot of surprises that can cut your run short in the worst possible ways. If you think you're tough enough to make it to the end, here's where to find the Red Mile and the best tips on surviving it.
Where to find the Red Mile

The Red Mile is technically the name of the entire casino-hotel resort, not just the challenge. It is found on the planet Porrima III, which is of course in the Porrima system. You can jump there manually anytime you're exploring, but will also be tasked with going there if you're following the Freestar Collective faction questline.

Read more
How to unlock Havik in Mortal Kombat 1
Havik ripping his own arm off.

Aside from the infamous Fatalities, one of the defining features of the Mortal Kombat series has been its unlockables. Each game has had tons of secrets to discover and unlock. Originally, these were found through very cryptic means, but have evolved to be tied more to progression and accomplishing specific tasks within the game. The most appealing thing to unlock has always been new characters, and Mortal Kombat 1 keeps one member of the roster tucked away for you to earn. If you want to get your hands on Havik, we'll spill the beans.

Read more
How to unlock all Kameo Fighters in Mortal Kombat 1
Rain stands next to Sektor in Mortal Kombat 1.

Despite always sticking to the traditional one-versus-one format for the main series, Mortal Kombat 1 has introduced a secondary system using Kameo Fighters that you can call in to assist you during a fight. This helps expand the roster from its already impressive ranks by including some fan favorites, but more importantly, it adds a new level of depth to the fighter to consider when picking your backup. These assists even have their own unique Fatalities as well! Even so, just like Havik, you have to do a little work to unlock these Kameo Fighters. If you want to take the fight to the online ranks, you will need to have all the Kameo Fighters at your disposal. Here's how to unlock them all in Mortal Kombat 1.
How to unlock all Kameo Fighters
Unlocking Kameo Fighters is tied to your overall profile level. You level up your profile by doing basically any activity in the game, such as playing Invasions mode and the Tower. Whatever you pick, every five levels you reach will reward you with one new Kameo Fighter. Here's which ones you unlock at each milestone:

Level 5 - Scorpion

Read more