If you’re going to California or the holiday weekend, or if you live there, better be careful with your cell phone. Today’s the day a new state law comes into effect, making it illegal to use your phone while driving unless it’s equipped with a hands-free device. Break that law and it’s $20 for the first offence and $50 for the second time.
The California Highway Patrol will be aggressively enforcing the law over the holiday weekend, and governor Arnold Schwarzenegger has announced:
“The simple fact is it’s dangerous to talk on your cell phone while driving. CHP data show that cell phones are the number one cause of distracted-driving accidents. So getting people’s hands off their phones and onto their steering wheels is going to make a big difference in road safety. The ‘Hands-Free’ cell phone bill will save lives by making our roads safer.”
According to Vnunet the sales of Bluetooth and other hands-free devices have soared over the weekend. But one company, online seller Headsets.com, has drawn controversy by offering free headsets – however, they only give them to those who’ve already been fined for breaking the law.
In a statement the company said:
“Frankly, we don’t think driving while talking even on a headset is as safe as putting the phone down and focusing on your driving. But if you are going to talk on your phone, we want you to be safe.”